Edward Hopper (1882 – 1967)

Nighthawks

Nighthawks 1942

I was reading a blog (Granola Shotgun – Stories of urbanism, adaptability and resilience) that referenced Edward Hopper.  There was no reference to Edward Hopper in the text, so I searched further.

I’m glad I did.  I’d never heard of Edward Hopper before (or if I had, I’d long since forgotten).  According to Wiki:-

Edward Hopper (July 22, 1882 – May 15, 1967) was a prominent American realist painter and printmaker. While he was most popularly known for his oil paintings, he was equally proficient as a watercolorist and printmaker in etching. Both in his urban and rural scenes, his spare and finely calculated renderings reflected his personal vision of modern American life.’

Typically, the bare bones summary hides a much more interesting story.

It seems to me that like something I grew up with, and yet the images are still powerful.

Leave a Reply

